New
Find
Notify
Tools

Turret vs Single Stage
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I am fairly new at reloading, and was givven a Texan press.

This press is working, but someth/ing is just not right with it, the ram has alot of movement side to side. This thing has seen alot of use by the looks of it.

As of now I am only reloading .223 and .45. In the future I will also be doing 30/06 and when I pick up a new gun either 308 or 300 win mag.

I have been looking at the Redding T7, along with the Big Boss II SS press.

Is a Turret press worth the extra money? I do like the thought of having all my dies set and and never again having to worry about them.

One of Us
Picture of ted thorn
posted Hide Post
If you are going to be doing pistol and/or large quatity rifle batches go with the turret, I use a single but rarley load more than 50 per sesion.

Posts: 7361 | Location: South East Missouri | Registered: 23 November 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
How big of volume are you planning on loading at once, with pistol and rifle?

One of Us
posted Hide Post
I am more concerned with quality over quantity. Mainly in my .223.

The volume aspect is not really a concern to me.

That being said, is a Turret worth the extra $100 or so?

Who else makes a good quality and solid turret? Is the Layman one a solid press? What about the RCBS? I know Lee makes one, and alot of people use them, but I am not interested in the Lee Turret.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by midminnesota:
How big of volume are you planning on loading at once, with pistol and rifle?

Right now I am doing my pistol in lots of 50 and my rifle in lots of 20.

One of Us
Picture of Sam
posted Hide Post