Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Recipe / Grouping
 Login/Join

posted
I'm new to reloading. I have began searching for a good recipe for my varmint bolt rifle. I've tried various powder & bullet combinations. I began to wonder??

Help me understand this.......

No matter what the recipe is. If you shoot two IDENTICLE rounds in the same rifle held exactly in the same position etc. Won't they hit the same hole in the target? I realize no two rounds are identicle. This is just hypotheticle.

one of us
posted Hide Post
wb

Yes, hypothetically, all the bullets will go through the same hole. Way back in 1868 a young lad named Franklin W. Mann wondered why real life did not imitate the hypothetical and he set out on a lifetime study to find out why. He spent the rest of his life looking for the answer and published most of his findings in a book in 1909. Today's Benchrest rifles come very close to that elusive perfect group but no one has done it yet. Probably never will either.

JMHO

Ray

Arizona Mountains

Posts: 1560 | Location: Arizona Mountains | Registered: 11 October 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Hey Ray,

I wonder if any one has "computer modeled" the same scenario taking place in a zero gravity, vacuum environment. I'm guessing that mechanical tolerances would be the limiting factor in obtaining the "one hole" holy grail .

Posts: 8169 | Location: humboldt | Registered: 10 April 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I'm sure someone has modeled it. Isn't that called Rocket Science?

And maybe it would work. All we need is a shooting bench on a distant planet to test it. Wink

Ray

Arizona Mountains

Posts: 1560 | Location: Arizona Mountains | Registered: 11 October 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
great now all you'd have to do is find exactlt identical pieces of powder,exact mix of primer.
exact seating depth and primer pocket.
with exactly the same sized hole.
and exactly the same amount of fouling in the bore.