New
Find
Notify
Tools

Chronograph:Shooting Chrony-vs-Oehler 35
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I have been using a Chrony Beta Master for several years with success.However,for some reason I have always wanted to upgrade(?) to an Oehler when the funds were available.Now I have found out that the Oheler 35 is being discontinued and I am being put in the position to make a decision-now or never.In honesty,I have pretty well established the loads for my rifles and will only use a chronograph for working up new loads as different bullets hit the market.The money for the Oehler would go a long way towards the purchase of a new barrel for my 6ppc bench rifle or towards the Decot shooting glasses I want.I am just trying to get things in perspective and value any opinions.I just hate the position with Oehler,buy now or never.Is the Oheler that much better,reliable,than my Chrony?
Thank you,
Jim

Posts: 144 | Location: Texas | Registered: 16 November 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Where do you get the information that the Oehler will become unavailable? Not disputing you, just wondering.

Posts: 13245 | Location: Henly, TX, USA | Registered: 04 April 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of El Deguello
posted Hide Post
Well, Oehler is tops, of course! But I started out with Oehler, and now use my Beta-Chrony most of the time, because it is so much easier to transport and set up at the range. Chronys seem as accurat as the Oehler also, but I guess they are more sensitive to light condition changes, although I have not had much of a problem with mine. Particularly in upstate NY, where the sun rarely shines anyway!

"Bitte, trinks du nicht das Wasser. Dahin haben die Kuhen gesheissen."

Posts: 4386 | Location: New Woodstock, Madison County, Central NY | Registered: 04 January 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post