New
Find
Notify
Tools

Advantages to protected point partitions
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I was wondering if anybody knows if there are any advantages to a Protect point partition by Nosler. I have found a good deal on them. The look to be a stronger bullet, but I have no experience with them. What are the designed for?

"We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, then is not an act, but a habit"--Aristotle (384BC-322BC)

Posts: 749 | Location: Central Montana | Registered: 17 October 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
They are designed so the lead points don't get distorted like on the standard partition.

Posts: 3104 | Location: alberta,canada | Registered: 28 January 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
they are no different in physical design than a Speer Grand Slam or a Swift A Frame but as in all bullets the construction is what is key. I suspect you're only question is in relation to flight more than, is it a partition cause it is, for hunting purposes and at nominal ranges it is a very good bullet and will do quite well. If long range shooting is you're choice I would opt for the spitzer or some kind of ballistic tip.

Posts: 1019 | Location: foothills of the Brooks Range | Registered: 01 April 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
These bullets would be used for hunting at ranges up to 300 yards, but more often less than 250 yards.

"We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, then is not an act, but a habit"--Aristotle (384BC-322BC)

Posts: 749 | Location: Central Montana | Registered: 17 October 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of z1r
posted Hide Post
https://forums.accuratereloading.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/3221043/m/353108273

Those seconds are attractive at that price, huh?

Aut vincere aut mori

Posts: 4862 | Location: Lakewood, CO | Registered: 07 February 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of brianbo
posted Hide Post