Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

problems with 85gr partition and 33gr imr 4895
 Login/Join

posted
I went to the range today and had a huge problem with this combination. I had five rounds loaded and shot the first three with no problem. It was actually shooting very accurate and I thought that I might have found a good load. The next shot was not so good. I blew the primer out of the case and I was unable to get the bolt open. I had to take the gun to the onsite gunsmith to get it fixed. I thought that maybe the case had split and that was why I was having such a hard time getting the bolt open. He had to take the gun apart to get the case out and it looked fine other than the primer blowing out of it. He had to fix the ejector and put the rifle back together. My biggest question is what the hell happened. This is the min load for this bullet in the Nosler book and I am confused more now than ever. I am new to reloading and this is the first problem that I have ever had. Any and all input is welcomed!!

One of Us
posted Hide Post
Hi Briant,
would help all of us here if you let us know a few things.
1. caliber and rifle/action used
2. any history on the rifle, new? factory model etc?
3. was the OAL of the loaded cartridge corrct per the loading manual?
4. what laoding manual? latest or earlier?

stay tuned

Posts: 155 | Location: West Virginia | Registered: 13 April 2008Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post