New
Find
Notify
Tools

.40 Smith resizing?
 Login/Join

posted
Newbie Question:

I'm new to reloading, and I need to load .40 Smith. Looks like from previous discussions in this forum that there will always be a problem with this cal in once-fired brass, because so many people shoot Glocks.

My loader is the SQDL, and Dillon tells me it won't completely correct this problem.

Question: Should I look for a separate, more powerful resizing system? If so, what system, and what's the recommended source?

Thanks in advance,

The government that robs Peter to pay Paul, will surely have the support of Paul. (Shaw)

Posts: 6 | Location: Phoenix, soon to be kidnapping capital of the world! Get 'm, Sheriff Joe | Registered: 04 July 2010Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Johnny, the 40 S&W issue and Glocks has been gone for almost 10 years now. In any Glock 40 that is third generation and above the chamber is more supported than my CZ, my Sig, and my Barsto custom barrel. I would not worry one bit about it. Just size as normal and go on.

You will still find one guy running around out there trashing the 40 Glocks but all of his info is 10 years old if you look into it.

Larry

"Peace is that brief glorious moment in history, when everybody stands around reloading" -- Thomas Jefferson

Posts: 3942 | Location: Kansas USA | Registered: 04 February 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of fredj338
posted Hide Post
You don't need more power, just a diff sizing die. REdding makes a through sizer that you push the entire case through. It can be mounted on any single stage press. Even the cheap Lee would work for that.

LIFE IS NOT A SPECTATOR'S SPORT!

Posts: 7752 | Location: kalif.,usa | Registered: 08 March 2001Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
Thanks for your help, guys. Appreciate you making the effort.

Fred: I found a cheap Lee single-stage press and set of Redding 40cal dies on Ebay, but I'm not sure I'm looking at the correct dies: Series A, #80272.