THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM FORUMS

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Guns, Politics, Gunsmithing & Reloading  Hop To Forums  Reloading    308 bullet? when and why you use light bullets (125 gr) and heavy bullets (150 gr)

Moderators: Mark
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

308 bullet? when and why you use light bullets (125 gr) and heavy bullets (150 gr)
 Login/Join

<wengv>
posted
I am new to reloading. I have spent a lot of time reading the reloading manuals. I will start reloading for 308. I am wondering what applications for light and heavy bullets.

<Bruce Gordon>
posted
I load up several and try them all to see what shoots well in my rifle. I don't actually shoot at anything that moves, so if you do that would also decide what bullet you want. The light bullets are not normally for anything bigger than varmints.
My target rifle shoots 130 grain bullets really well at 100 yards but horribly at 200 yards and beyond. For all around use, I use the 180 grain Sierra Matchking bullets and Reloader 15 powder to get extremely small groups out to 600 yards.
The heavier bullets shoot flatter and buck the wind better than the light bullets. This translates to better long range accuracy unless you are a whiz at reading the wind.
The lighter bullets have considerably less recoil and are much nicer to shoot for that reason.

[This message has been edited by Bruce Gordon (edited 10-02-2001).]

one of us
posted Hide Post
I have probably shot more .308 win, in 7.62 NATO flavor, than anything (other than .22 LR) yet I have hunted with this cartridge very little. I did use the 165's and found those to be just right for deer and antelope. If elk or moose were on the menu I would look at 180's. The light bullets are IMHO for practice and varmints, not for larger game.
FN

Posts: 950 | Location: Cascade, Montana USA | Registered: 11 June 2000Reply With Quote
<Jeff S>
posted