New
Find
Notify
Tools

Sticky extraction 458 Lott
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I am not a reloading pro, I only do it to same money. All has gone great so far, except the 5 sticky extractions and the primers fell out yesterday at the farm ( I shot 50 rounds). I was shooting 500 grain X bullets, ? grain of ????????? powder, CCI mag rifle primer, Hornady brass. I everything by hand, no electronics. There was no brass damage to any of the 50 rds. except the primer pocket carbon on the 5 sticky brass.

Question- How do I avoid this? What did I do wrong? Will this ruin the rifle?

Load data removed

Thanks Jerry

Posts: 659 | Location: "The Muck", NJ | Registered: 10 April 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
The loads are too hot for that gun.

Join the NRA

Posts: 5543 | Registered: 09 December 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Gotta agree with Savage99, your loads are WAY TOO HOT! Scrap that load and start with a helluva lott less powder. Your loads won't hurt the rifle but may hurt you.

Lo do they call to me,
They bid me take my place
among them in the Halls of Valhalla,
Where the brave may live forever.

one of us
posted Hide Post
Thanks guys

I really got to check my records, as this load was fine in the warmer weather.

Posts: 659 | Location: "The Muck", NJ | Registered: 10 April 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
The very long 500 grain Barnes X bullet will also increase pressure in calibres like the 458 Win or 458 Lott because they reduce the case capacity by a significant amount.

In other words loads with say 500 grain Hornady or Woodleigh round noses would give higher pressure if the 500 grain Barnes X was used.

Mike

Posts: 7206 | Location: Sydney, Australia | Registered: 22 May 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Minkman: