Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

load up for 44 mag
 Login/Join

posted
I've been scrolling through the archives here looking for a load up on a 44 mag and haven't seen one to match my situation. Remember, newbie here, getting everything from Santa in two weeks, so have never loaded brass ammo before. Truly a newbie.
I shoot a lot of hogs at close range, under 10 feet, so long distance performance is not an issue. I need stopping power to put a big hog down quickly. I don't need or want a pass through shot if I can help it as I will have dogs in and near the hog. Shooting a Ruger Bisley Vaquero. For me to go to the pistol, poop is hitting the fan, it is the weapon of last resort. Reduced recoil wouldn't be a bad thing, but it is a 44 magnum, so I accept recoil as part of the equation. I have been shooting the 240 JHP stuff for years, all store bought, over the counter, name brand stuff. Whatever is cheapest basically. I just ordered a box of Hornady 240gr XTP JHP bullets. Thought about going lighter to the 180 gr or heavier to the 300 gr, but stuck with 240.
Any recommendations on powder and load recipes?

New to brass reloading..

Posts: 6 | Location: Floresville, TX | Registered: 28 November 2017Reply With Quote
Picture of jeffeosso
posted Hide Post
44mag, hogs, close --

heavy!!! soft!!!!! cast flatnose bullets at moderate vels

opinions vary band of bubbas and STC hunting Club

Information on Ammoguide about
the416AR, 458AR, 470AR, 500AR
What is an AR round? Case Drawings 416-458-470AR and 500AR.
476AR,
http://www.weaponsmith.com

Posts: 39622 | Location: Conroe, TX | Registered: 01 June 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Fury01
posted Hide Post
240 JHP working for you now, I would not change. I love cast bullets but they are more likely to exit the Hog and enter a dog.

"The liberty enjoyed by the people of these states of worshiping Almighty God agreeably to their conscience, is not only among the choicest of their blessings, but also of their rights."