New
Find
Notify
Tools

Chronograph advice
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I'm relatively new to reloading and so far only reload for my .300 WinMag and 9.3x74R DR. It's the 9.3 that's giving me fits and I think I need to chrono the loads (as many helpful posters have told me)

However, in looking at chronos I am at a loss at what to buy. I have never seen one, used one nor have I seen one in use. It appears to me that a remote readout would be helpful, even if not necessary.

Where is the chrono positioned with respect to the muzzle? In other words, at what distance is the reading taken?

Can anyone suggest a reasonably reliable chrono with remote at under $150?
I am not a high volume shooter and don't care about printouts or storing info on my PC.

Any general chrono advice would be appreciated.

Thank you very much

Oxon

One of Us
Picture of eagle27
posted Hide Post
I'm quite a regular visitor to the range and almost without exception every "hunter" at the range uses a Chrony. the only other chronograph set up I've seen in use was an elaborate affair used by a long range enthusiast with a 338LM for whom, judging by all the fancy gear he had, money didn't seem to be a problem.

Everyone else, my self included, who uses a Chrony seem to get good results consistent with expectations for the factory loads and reloads they all use.

Mine, which I've had for over 30 years, does not have a remote read out and this is a feature I would certainly pay for on a new Chrony. Set up 10 or 12 feet from the muzzle in open light and use the white plastic diffusers in sunlight. Use a quality battery and don't use near fluorescent lighting which seems to interfere with the electronics.These are good priced investments when reloading.

Posts: 3906 | Location: Rolleston, Christchurch, New Zealand | Registered: 03 August 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post