CF's on paper and coyotes....that's about it.) Precise bullet
seating for me has been a "hit & miss" PIA. Any difference in
bullet ogives seems to throw the seating off by as much as
.005", and that HAS made a difference in POI with all my
rifles.

So, how do you guys who get your depths right down to a
thousandth or two do it?

Our independence is dying.

Posts: 565 | Location: Walker, IA, USA | Registered: 03 December 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
the issue with mass-produced bullets, well one anyway, is that there is not just one set of tungsten-carbide dies used for each design. Sierra Match Kings, for instance, have three final point-up dies forming the final nose shape and spitting them in one bin by the thousands an hour. Not bad-mouthing Sierra in any way; that is the economics of the business. When I started shooting Hunter Bench Rest about 1988 I shot them exclusively, and could get groups under 1/4moa out to 300 yards with a Leupold 36X scope.