New
Find
Notify
Tools

Setting up Hornady resizing die
 Login/Join

Picture of Rmitch223
posted
I'm fairly new to reloading. I'm getting ready to start reloading .243 for my Rem. 700 SPS V.

My question is that I see a lot of people setting up there sizing die by raising the ram and turning in the sizing die until it touches the shell holder then lowering the ram and turning in the sizing die another 1/8 to 1/4 turn. I recently took a local NRA certified reloading class and the instructor suggested this method but does not have experience with the Hornady dies I will be using.

In the instructions that come with the Hornady dies it says to screw the die down until it touches the shell holder when the ram is at its highest position without camming over them lower the ram and tighten the lock ring and its set.

Which way do I need to setup my die for proper resizing to insure a safe and accurate headspace?

Thanks,

Ryan

Posts: 2 | Location: SW Oklahoma City | Registered: 09 November 2012Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of ramrod340
posted Hide Post
Too me both of these methods over size your brass. Assuming you are loading for one 243 then I would set my dies up to contact the shoulder of your fired brass. Check to insure it will chamber. Yes your headsapce will be a touch longer than std. However it will be much closer to the headspace of your rifle. It will work your brass far less. If it doesn't chamber or after a couple loadings the case becomes too tight in your chamber lower your die a 1/8-1/4 turn.

As to the orginal question I can't see either method making enough of a difference to worry about.

As usual just my $.02
Paul K

Posts: 12881 | Location: Mexico, MO | Registered: 02 April 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of thecanadian
posted Hide Post
tu2 +2