Find
Notify
Tools

over max loads
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of hivelosity
posted
how many reloaders do we have that load over max loads.
The reason i ask i see a lot of reloading data offered up
That is over max. mainly in the 243win.
I have been reloding and shooting the 243 for many years and know for a fact that overloding and hot rodding this cartrage will only lead to a rifle with excessive head space, set back lugs and in 2 cases that i have experienced with friends, is a completely destroyed rifle both remington 700.
most reloding manuals and powder mfg list 52K cup and 60K psi. 20yrs ago or so, I destroyed a 243 win Mauser shooting
60gr bullets over 49grs. imr 4350
just trying to find out what the average reloder thinks about this.

Posts: 2134 | Location: Ohio | Registered: 26 June 2000Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Quote:

That is over max.

Overmax according to who?There is so much variation in data in the various loading manuals that a load may be over max according to one book but under max according to another.All that matters is that the load is safe in the gun that it is fired in.

Posts: 3104 | Location: alberta,canada | Registered: 28 January 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I shoot many loads that are considered above the maximum in cartridges that I reload; however, none of them are .243 Win, and most of them are very old cartridges the data for which is constrained by older weaker actions. Loading above the max published in manuals is not for beginners, and should only be attempted by those who fully understand the many issues that come into play. Then it should be approached very carefully. For modern cartridges like the .243, it can only lead to trouble. Ku-dude

one of us
posted Hide Post