Find
Notify
Tools

New barrel - velocity change in same load
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I have a pretty new Lilja barreled 280 Rem. 24"

When I first started loading and shooting I chronographed a 150gr ELDX at 2900 fps using IMR 4955 - this was at around 20 rounds through the barrel. I started shooting this load to explore different seating depths and found an accurate OAL. I then measured velocity again at around 90 rounds and it was about 75 fps higher, which seems too hot.

Does this change seem normal - perhaps due to barrel break in?

I clean after about every 20 rounds.

David

Posts: 301 | Location: Corvallis, Oregon | Registered: 03 February 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of ramrod340
posted Hide Post
Your starting load and final are different. You changed the OAL. Pressure changes as does velocity.

As usual just my $.02
Paul K

Posts: 12881 | Location: Mexico, MO | Registered: 02 April 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Fjold
posted Hide Post
Many barrels have a rough factory finish that is smoothed out after the barrel break in. It's not unusual to see a velocity increase in the first 100 rounds.

Frank

"I don't know what there is about buffalo that frightens me so.....He looks like he hates you personally. He looks like you owe him money."
- Robert Ruark, Horn of the Hunter, 1953

NRA Life, SAF Life, CRPA Life, DRSS lite

Posts: 12710 | Location: Kentucky, USA | Registered: 30 December 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of sambarman338
posted Hide Post
The changed OAL makes more sense to me than barrel break-in - unless, possibly, gilding-metal fouling was allowed to build up.

Posts: 5111 | Location: Melbourne, Australia | Registered: 31 March 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of dpcd
posted Hide Post
Not too hot if your brass extracts easily and the primer pockets stay tight.

Posts: 17290 | Location: USA | Registered: 02 August 2009Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Thank you for the replies.