New
Find
Notify
Tools

22LR for coyote
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Your thoughts on using 22lr on coyote hunting,20 yards or less.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
Will they kill a coyote? Yes Would I use one for hunting them NO. Not unless they were in a trap or snare so I could pick my shot. I am not a professional but have killed quite a few. I use a 222 or a 6mm remington for my coyote hunting.

Keep yer powder dry and yer knife sharp.

Posts: 582 | Location: Texas City, TX. USA. | Registered: 25 January 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Buglemintoday
posted Hide Post
I'd do it like what Okie said, If I could walk up to it in a foothold and do it just to dispatch.

I shot a grey fox in the front chest with a .22LR at about 15 yards once and I never found it. Don't trust it for much more then rabbits and squirrels

"Let me start off with two words: Made in America"

Posts: 3315 | Location: Permian Basin | Registered: 16 December 2006Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Bobby Tomek
posted Hide Post
First off, you ask about a 20 yard or less shot. After many years of hunting and trapping coyotes, I can tell you that point-blank encounters (other than trapped animals) are few and far between.

But if you have the patience to take ONLY close range shots and have the necessary skill to put the bullet through the brain, then yes, it will work.

But I would not use it. That's because hunting situations are seldom perfect, and rarely is a shot opportunity so optimum.

There are a few spots I call in which the range will never exceed 75 yards, and most shots are 50-60. For that, a .22 Magnum to the chest of a coyote works well. For anything else, a centerfire is in order.

Bobby
Μολὼν λαβέ
The most important thing in life is not what we do but how and why we do it. - Nana Mouskouri

Posts: 9336 | Location: Shiner TX USA | Registered: 19 March 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I have to agree with the rest on this one.