THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM TROPHY ROOM FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Hunting  Hop To Forums  Trophy Room Pictures    Hanging Kudu Shoulder-Mount on drywall?

Moderators: Saeed
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Hanging Kudu Shoulder-Mount on drywall?
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I did a search here and still would like more info...

I have a Kudu and Oryx Shoulder-Mount that I want to hang on to Sheetrock...

Has anyone done it before with satisfactory results?

What type of anchor did you use!

Thanks!

Posts: 3430 | Registered: 24 February 2007Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of CharlesL
posted Hide Post
I am still waiting for my Kudu and Gemsbok so I have no first hand experience with them. I think the best thing would be to hit a stud. The next would be to use two of the heavy duty hollow wall anchors. The type that spreads out behind the sheetrock as you tighten them down.

There was another discussion here.
http://forums.accuratereloadin.../1821043/m/841101309

DSC Life Member
NRA Life Member

Posts: 633 | Location: North Texas | Registered: 26 May 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Michael Robinson
posted Hide Post
My advice is the same.

Get a studfinder and drive a fairly heavy screw into a stud.

I would not trust one of those expanding flange type screws.

Mike

Wilderness is my cathedral, and hunting is my prayer.

Posts: 13405 | Location: New England | Registered: 06 June 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Thanks guys, I better not leave it to chance...I appreciate your replies! Cool

One of Us
Picture of tendrams
posted Hide Post
If placement dictates that you can't or don't want to hang it on a stud, get a "V" shaped piece of sufficiently heavy steel, attach it to a stud with two screws/bolts, and then attach the mount to the other end of the "V".

Just an option....

One of Us
Picture of CharlesL
posted Hide Post