New
Find
Notify
Tools

Cast questions
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I am presently studying all I can on the subject of cast bullets for hunting. I an interested in casting bullets for my 30-30s, and in the future for the 45-70. I understand the reasons for gas checks, but what determines the need for them, pressure, or velocity, or both? Are there any really good websites for learning about casting? I am still in the beginning stages of this ( obviously ), so any help would be appreciated. Thanks

DGK

Posts: 1317 | Location: eastern Iowa | Registered: 13 December 2000Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
375hnh,
Bullet design, speed and alloy usually decide if I need to use GC's. Most cast bullets with GC shanks haven't shot that good with-out the gas checks. Over 1800 fps I use GC's and for softer alloys I like gas checks also. They help to keep the leading down. Buy a Lyman #3 cast bullet book as it has some good knowledge in it. There are several cast bullet forums. One is Aimoo.com and lots of us hang out there also. Feel free to ask questions. Also find out if there are any casters near you who could help you learn. Mark

Posts: 210 | Location: Willamette Valley | Registered: 11 March 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Thanks Mark. I'm off to find the Lyman book. There aren't too many places around, that I have found that cater to the cast bullet crowd in my area. I have become friends with an older gentleman in my home town that used to do a lot of casting, and he has sort of offered to be my mentor.

DGK

Posts: 1317 | Location: eastern Iowa | Registered: 13 December 2000Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
You might have to check used book stores or hopefully you have a gun book seller who goes to gun shows and usually has older books like that. Good that you have somebody for a mentor. Mark

Posts: 210 | Location: Willamette Valley | Registered: 11 March 2001Reply With Quote
Picture of Paul H
posted Hide Post