New
Find
Notify
Tools

Casting pure lead
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Have a friend wanting to shoot some pure lead bullets out of a muzzleloader, so I thought I would try to cast some for him. So how do you get lead to flow like it should? I have cast hundreds of thousands of alloyed bullets, but trying to get pure lead to flow and properly fill a mould is a different animal for me. I have NO experience in this area, and am looking for help.

Thanks, guys.

Posts: 4748 | Location: TX | Registered: 01 April 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Try casting at a higher temperature than you use with your alloy.

DT

Posts: 196 | Location: NC | Registered: 21 June 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of fredj338
posted Hide Post
Add a small amount of 50/50 bar solder (8oz-10#lead). It won't significantly harden the lead but will help the mold fill out.

LIFE IS NOT A SPECTATOR'S SPORT!

Posts: 7752 | Location: kalif.,usa | Registered: 08 March 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Fred, I had considered that, just hadn't gotten to that point yet, as I wanted the bullets to be as soft as possible. Knew that the tin helps the metal flow, and was under the impression that hardness was primarily from antimony, but just wasn't sure.

Thanks, both of you. And keep it coming, guys.
I will never get too old to learn!

Posts: 4748 | Location: TX | Registered: 01 April 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of fredj338
posted Hide Post
You're correct, significant hardening comes from antimony. If you are worried, use 1/4# of 50/50, you can always add more.

LIFE IS NOT A SPECTATOR'S SPORT!

Posts: 7752 | Location: kalif.,usa | Registered: 08 March 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Versifier
posted Hide Post