Find
Notify
Tools

38-55 cal cast bullets
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of The Senator
posted
Does anyone know where I can buy cast bullets in the 38-55 cal in 265 to 285 grain gas checked. I prefer a 270 grain if I can locate where to buy them. I need them in a bore dia. of .382 as my bore is .381.
Any suggestions is appreciated, as I am very new to cast bullet reloading and shooting. If you shoot this load what is your load data?
Respectfully,
The Senator
Jerry Kazee jerry.kazee@yahoo.com

Life Member NRA
Life Member CA Rifle & Pistol Assoc.
DOJ Certified Handgun Instructor
Rocky Mt. Elk Foundation
NRA Certified Range Safety Officer

Posts: 535 | Location: Lincoln, CA 95648 | Registered: 19 April 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Jerry,

The standard 38-55 groove/bullet diameter was supposed to be .378, often old black powder era guns have oversize bores, I think you'll have problems locating any commercial cast bullet bigger than .379. You may have to have a custom mould made. I would try posting on the "Cast Boolit" forum, someone there may be able to help you.

Good luck.

http://castboolits.gunloads.com/

Posts: 231 | Location: Central Oregon | Registered: 08 September 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I can find plain base bullets but am not so sure there are any gas checked that diameter.

You may have a train wreck with bullets that large. The goofy .38-55 chamber is often too small to allow rounds loaded with bullets large than .378 or .379 to chamber.
To fix this requires the thinner Starline brass, turning the brass or having the chamber enlarged in the neck.
All in all, the .38-55 can be a minor PITA until the chamber and bore dimensions in your rifle get sorted out.

Posts: 13978 | Location: http://www.tarawaontheweb.org/tarawa2.jpg | Registered: 03 December 2008Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of The Senator
posted Hide Post
A big thank you to all that replied.
I have some work to do on this gun.