New
Find
Notify
Tools

Looking for online source for bullet casting info
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Hello everyone. Greetings from Mongolia. I am interested in casting bullets for Mosin Nagants and some other medium bore rifles. Please lead me to online source for bullet casting infromation. I am totally new to casting.
Thanks

Nyamdavaa

Posts: 77 | Location: Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia | Registered: 15 February 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of arkypete
posted Hide Post
Hmm, Mongolia
A suggestion don't cast in your yurt, the fumes are poisonious and there is a fire hazzard.
Two really good sites for casting info are Cast Boolets and Beartooth Bullets.
Hope to see you in both.
Jim

Posts: 6173 | Location: Richmond, Virginia | Registered: 17 September 2000Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Ricochet
posted Hide Post
I doubt Davaa's going to be casting in a yurt.

Davaa, the "Cast Boolits" site mentioned is at: http://cast_boolits.aimoo.com/ I think there's a thread over there about what it takes to get started in casting.

Posts: 1325 | Location: Bristol, Tennessee, USA | Registered: 24 December 2003Reply With Quote
Picture of Paul H
posted Hide Post
Welcome!

I'm almost totally ignorant of mongolia, and am curious about what sort of shooting supplies are commonly available, or where else you can have them shipped in. Are there local producers of bullet molds?

The basics for getting started are a source of lead, though pure lead will be too soft for all but black powder rifles. One of the preferred alloys in the states are wheel weights, the lead alloy weights used to balance automobile and truck tires. They are preferred because they are both relatively easy to come by, and the alloy produces a reasonably hard alloy, and can be made harder by heat treatment.