THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM CAST BULLET FORUM

Page 1 2 

Moderators: Paul H
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Boat Tail Cast Bullets with a Driving Band?
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of James Kain
posted Hide Post
As a machinist by trade, would it be possible to come up with your own punch an dies to use with scrap or stock copper?

Disabled Vet(non-combat) - US Army
NRA LIFE MEMBER
Hunter, trapper, machinest, gamer, angler, and all around do it your selfer.
Build my own CNC router from scratch. I installed the hight wrong. My hight moves but the rails blocks 3/4 of the hight.....

Posts: 934 | Location: North Anson Maine USA | Registered: 27 October 2008Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Here's a .45 cal cast bullet I poured from a mold I made. I use it in a muzzleloading appliciation, the boattail in the pic is a new version of the original which was approx. 1/8" longer, I cut it off of the mold because it was ineffective due to the bullets obturation which flattened it out anyway.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
303guy, ever try knurling?. Its a way of creating small diamond like ridges on your bullets. Find some who has a lathe in your area and has the fixture to hold collets. Bring along some of your missiles. Have him knurl a section about 3/8 to 1/2" near the nose and another one about an inch near the groove. Then get some lee liquid alox. Small artisis paint brush to paint the knurling and then go shoot your latest creation. Cheapest way I know of to roughen up a surface and improve its lube handling capacity,Frank

One of Us
posted Hide Post
If a lathe isn't available, you can knurl yourself with two bastard files. Lay one flat and place the bullet on top of it with the second file on top of the bullet ( sandwiched between the two files) then roll the bullet along the length of the files, this with leave a nice crosshatched pattern on the surface of the bullet.

One of Us
Picture of 303Guy
posted Hide Post
quote:
303guy, ever try knurling?.