Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Cast Bullets.....Where to start??
 Login/Join

posted
I have been reloading now for about 10 years, and have never used lead bullets let alone made my own, and I would like to get some basic information on where to start. Nobody I personally know casts their own bullets, so I would be entering new territory. I currently have several handguns that I would like to load for including 38, 357, 45LC, 45 ACP. I have a Dillon 550 Press and was wondering if this was able to be used with lead bullets. Also, besides Wheel Weights, what are other sources of lead, and with WW's, do you have add anything to themas far as addidtives, or just the lead. Does anyone have any books that I can read, I want to get as much information before jumping in as I do not want to waste money purchasing tools and materials only to have to upgrade a year later when I become more serious. I believe in making one purchase that may be more expensive, rather than several less expensive. So if you have equipment suggestions don't hesitate to mention the stuff that may be more expensive, but in the end a much better product. Thanks in advance!!

One of Us
Picture of johnch
posted Hide Post
Take a look at Cast Boolits

Lot's of info in the stickys
And even more if you do a search

A great group , that I am privlaged to be a small part of

John

NRA life
Delta
Pheasants Forever
DU
Hunt as if your life depended on your results

Posts: 591 | Location: NW ,Ohio 10 Min from Ottawa NWR | Registered: 09 January 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Yup, join us over at Castboolits.gunloads.com. You will be suprised at all the help you will get.

Wheelweights are fine. Get them while you can. Sometimes about 1-2% tin added will help in fillout of the bullet. 1% really should be enough, but try the WW;s first, you might not need any extra tin. A good lead pot, 20 lbs ,if you plan on casting alot.