New
Find
Notify
Tools

Newbie looking for advice
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I have been reloading for 20+ yrs but want to get into casting your own. Could those of you with more experience than I in this area please give me a laundry list & approximate cost to get started in this arena. As of right now I have about 30 lbs of wheelweights and thats it. I am also told that a bottom flow furnace is better than top load. I want to cast for a .50 cal muzzle loader and experiment with cast for 45-70 & 6.5 swede, probably 44 cal pistol bullets too. Your help would be appreciated.

Thanks

swede

"You are known by the tracks you leave..."

WyomingSwede

Posts: 44 | Location: North Central ND | Registered: 21 December 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of TCLouis
posted Hide Post
Welcome to the world of the "SILVER STREAM".

Casters like others have a LOT of opinions about what is the only way to do something, make up proper boolits . . . yest you have to learn to differentiate between real boolits and those other things.

If you hang around many of the BP shooters you are already used to the "opinions" issues.

Casting can start off cheap and build into as much as one wants to spend. It is also a part of the shooting sports where ones handiness will allow them to make some things that they will need.

Starting with a RB mold for the .50 caliber will make it easy to get used to everything and one can work up from there. If you shoot only conicals from the 50 then you may want to try with one of the 50 cal molds. Yet another approach since you mention 44 Mag, is to start casting 44 mag boolits and using a sabot in the 50 (you did not say if your were a traditionalist or modern Black Powder shooter).

WWs are a little hard for round balls and will cast a little larger than the mold is spec'ed