New
Find
Notify
Tools

Meplat.. how wide is too wide?
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
random thought here... I'm new to cast bullets and am thinking about picking up a 45-70 to play with. I've read somewhere about the benefits of a wide meplat on a cast hunting bullet but have not seen any full wadcutter designs for heavy slow cartridges like the 45-70. How wide is too wide?

Ian

Posts: 294 | Location: Kentucky | Registered: 09 March 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Lar45
posted Hide Post
I have a mold that is a 45cal 350gn with 90% nose from www.mountainmolds.com It's pretty much a wadcutter with just a bit of nose on it. They work great in my 454. I haven't shot anything but paper with them yet though. If it's a levergun, then you might run into feeding issues???

Posts: 2924 | Location: Arkansas | Registered: 23 December 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Depends on the type of gun you intend to shoot it in. If you are going to shoot it in a single shot, you can use a full wadcutter. If you use it in a lever action that angles the cartridge upward into the chamber, you *MIGHT* have a problem.

I have never tried the 45-70, but I have a 44-40 rifle and a 32-20 rifle (both of which angle the cartridge up into the chamber) that I tried some wide meplat LBT bullets in. Where the chamber necked down, the edge of the meplat hung up. Damaged the nose of the bullet. This does not happen with my 38-40 lever action (which does NOT angle the cartridge -- it is lifted like an elevator).

The 45-70 necks down some, but not very much. It might not be a problem even with angled lever actions.

Posts: 212 | Location: Omaha, NE | Registered: 22 August 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
12FLVSS...Harry O and Lar are right. The only limiting factor is the feeding.