New
Find
Notify
Tools

Very flattened primers
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I have casted some .356" bullets for loading in a 9X19 using a Lee TL356-124-2R mold. I tumbled lubed them with the Lee Alox lube that I cut down a tad with mineral spirits. I started with 4.5 grains of Unique and Fed. 100 SP primers. The Lee data says starting load of 5.3 with a 125 lead bullet but my Lyman book says 4.4 starting with a RCBS molded bullet so I went with the more conservative data somewhat.
I shot 3 of these loads and I got some of the flattest primers that I have ever seen on any cartridge.
Any Ideas on what is happening? With jacked bullets and 5.1 grains of Unique, the primers look fine.
The bullets are casted from wheel weights. I am thinking they might be bit too soft. These bullets seem to shoot descent and extracted fine but i am thinking I've got a lot higher pressures than I should.

I am a newbie to casting for the most part although I have been dabbling for a while.
Any thoughts or suggestions are welcome.

Posts: 1521 | Location: Just about anywhere in Texas | Registered: 26 January 2008Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of eagle27
posted Hide Post
Are you crimping those cast bullets and creating too much headspace? This condition can allow primers to back out then flatten off as they are reseated by the case thrusting back onto the bolt head. The primers then give an impression of high pressure when there is not.

Posts: 3867 | Location: Nelson, New Zealand | Registered: 03 August 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Eagle,
Yes, I am using the Lee "Carbide Factory Crimp" die which is a taper crimp. I don't believe it is a headspace issue as I took the barrel out to visually check for leading. I also placed a loaded cast bullet round in the chamber to check for that very same thing and it appeared to headspace fine.
According to the Lee instructions, it is impossible to over crimp the case with this die. (shrug)