THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM CAST BULLET FORUM

Moderators: Paul H
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

How do I eliminate pits/inclusions in bullets?
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I'm new to bullet casting and I'm having a problem. There are pits/inclusions in almost all of the bullets I've cast (see picture below). I cannot see any dirt in the pits, but they look almost like the pits that are left after rust is cleaned off of steel.

Nothing I do seems to help and after a few hundred bullets (which I have re-melted) I'm not sure what else to try. The Lyman handbook of casting mentions something about calcium (or some contaminant) that causes inclusions; is there any way to get rid of it?

Here is what I am using (all new):
Lyman Mag 20 pot
Saeco #62433 mould and handles
Wheel weights
Flux (I think it may be beeswax; it's yellow and hard (about the consistency of candle wax, but the smoke smells like beeswax)

Here's what I have done up to now:

Cleaned the moulds with denatured alcohol and a nylon brush (three times)

Fluxed the lead a number of times--there's no more dirt that I can see

Emptied and cleaned the pot, put the lead back in, and fluxed again

Cast with high lead temps (got pitted bullets with frost)

Cast with low lead temps (got pitted shiny bullets)

Dropped bullets as soon as sprue hardened

Dropped 50 seconds after pouring

Dropped at various times in between

Tried opening up valve to pour lead quickly

Closed it down to pour slowly

So far, nothing has helped. I'm wondering if it's an alloy problem or fluxing problem. Any advice would be very much appreciated---thanks in advance!

-

Posts: 68 | Location: Virginia | Registered: 13 May 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
almost looks like you have some pits in your mold blocks check them closly to be honest i dont think that they will effect your accuracy that much I would try another mold and see if you have the same problem before id blame the alloy.