THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM CAST BULLET FORUM

Moderators: Paul H
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Anyone cast for the .300 Winchester Magnum?
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I love shooting cast bullets so much, I'd like to try shooting cast in my 300 Win with standard rifle primers, and reduced (obviously) loads.

I've got a Ruger No. 1, and it fits like a glove, but the big magnum 200 gr loads tend to wear me out.

Anybody have any experience with this baby and lead?

Patrick

one of us
Picture of felix
posted Hide Post
I have no personal experience with a case that large with cast, but I will tell you what you can do as I would if you were here with me. First, get a can of some real slow ball powder, like the 50 caliber machine gun stuff. H870 comes to mind, as well as the military version called WC872 or WC860. Use a standard primer with 50 grains of this slow stuff as a starter, topped off with that plastic shotgun buffer powder. Do not compress, but fill to base of boolit of 180 to 220 grains. Shoot 3 to see if recoil and accuracy are satisfactory. If you can take more punishment, add the machine gun powder in 5 grain increments until satisfaction is met. Always use the buffer. I could be that accuracy begins to fall off as the powder is incremented, but not likely. If so, then use 3 grains of 3031 or 4198 against the primer for a flame extender into the slow powder, and redo starting at 50 grains of the machine gun powder. Don't try shooting this slow powder without the filler because of possible multiple pressure spikes. If you have a chrono, seek 2200-2400 fps for your thrills, otherwise remain at 1800 or so. ... felix

Posts: 477 | Location: fort smith ar | Registered: 17 September 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
THanks Felix!! That looks like a very interesting experiment, and I have a strong Ruger #1 to use, so I would feel a little safer.