Find
Notify
Tools

9X41 or 358 mini Mag.
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of bartsche
posted
Roll EyesRecently I posted that I had achieved a little over 2000fps. with a 297gr. gas checked bullet in my 35 caliber widcat with the almost same powder capacity as the 30-30. That's 06 energy level .There relly wasn't much of a response. OK! I would like to know who of you uses this weight bullet or something close,for hunting driven at this speed. Next I'd like to know from you experts what game getting results you got. It boggles my mind that the degree or percent of enrgy transfere is so great.What magic arena are you guys playing in? bewilderedroger

Old age is a high price to pay for maturity!!! Some never pay and some pay and never reap the reward. Wisdom comes with age! Sometimes age comes alone..

Posts: 10226 | Location: Temple City CA | Registered: 29 April 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I'm not an expert, but I've been using a 300 grain cast bullet in the 9.3x57 (.365 bore) for deer hunting at about 1950 fps. Bullet has a wide meplat and is cast around 13 bhn. Typical performance was an inch to inch and half hole through the deer. If a shoulder(s) or the spine is hit the deer goes down to stay on the spot. Lung hits they run 10 to 50 yards and go down. Shots have been 30 feet to about 75 yards (I hunt the woods). This is a mild load, but I don't feel the need for more fps.

Currently playing with a 375 Winchester with a 300 grain flat nose, plain base bullet in a Marlin. Not sure why, as I can't ask for anything better than the 9.3, guess I just want to try something different this fall. I don't foresee any problems even at 1200 to 1300 fps taking a deer with this combination.

Posts: 81 | Location: West Central WI | Registered: 02 March 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of bartsche
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by gutshot_again: