New
Find
Notify
Tools

Lead Remover
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I'm new to cast bullet shooting. All my bore cleaners/solutions are for removing copper and powder fouling. Some even say they won't remove lead fouling.

What's the best(easiest) way to remove lead fouling in the bore.

Product brand and cleaning methods sought.

Thank you.

Posts: 54 | Location: Ca, USA | Registered: 25 August 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
The only thing that works for me is to wrap an old bore brush with copper strands from a Chore Boy cleaning pad. Then I apply a generous amount of Ed's Red to the brush and scrub away using a coated cleaning rod.
I haven't found anything else that works, and so far this does not seem to harm the bore.

one of us
posted Hide Post
As Max said, "Chore Boy" works well with "Ed's Red" or dry. However, if you don't want to go to the trouble of brewing your own batch of Ed's Red, "Kroil" will suffice: It's convenient, but not as inexpensive as Ed's Red. ...Maven

Posts: 480 | Location: N.Y. | Registered: 09 January 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of arkypete
posted Hide Post
The best lead remover is to not have leading in the first place. With proper sizing and bullet lube you won't have this problem.
Jim

Posts: 6173 | Location: Richmond, Virginia | Registered: 17 September 2000Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
The Lewis lead remover worked for me! derf

Posts: 3450 | Location: Aldergrove,BC,Canada | Registered: 22 February 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Thank you for all replies.

It seems to me the cleaning recommendations are more of a mechanical or physical cleaning, rather than in a chemical manner.

Has anyone tried Shooter's Choice Lead Remover?