New
Find
Notify
Tools

Horus
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I am looking for a scope to go on my AR. It is going to be a longer range varmint rifle.

I have been looking at Leupold Mark V's but I was told to also look into Horus scopes.

Whats the verdict on these, is the glass any good?

One of Us
Picture of Grumulkin
posted Hide Post
You need to tell us what you mean by "longer range." ARs in general aren't known for tack driving accuracy, with some exceptions, so the range will be limited by the inherent accuracy of the rifle. What varmints are to be the target is also important since shooting a squirrel at 200 yards is a lot different than shooting a coyote at the same distance.

I have no personal experience with Horus scopes but, from what I've read on internet forums, their customer service is bad.

I have several Leupold Mark 4s which I'm quite pleased with and Leupold's customer service is second to none.

Posts: 2911 | Location: Ohio, U.S.A. | Registered: 31 March 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I am going mostly for woodchucks and coyotes, and in the 200-400 range.

One of Us
Picture of Grumulkin
posted Hide Post
First about the woodchucks, known around here as groundhogs. I drive a lot at night and I've spent quite a few evening hours glassing my field and over several years of looking for them at night I have NEVER seen a woodchuck out at night. They come out in early morning and during the day around here. Is it different where you live?

Since you're shooting an AR, I presume the cartridge is 223 which is adequate for what you want to do. If you're getting 1 inch groups at 100 yards, you're going to do no better than 4 inch groups at 400 yards.