New
Find
Notify
Tools

Price difference of Spotter??
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I have been wanting a really good spotting scope for a while. I have two that are ok but not great. At Cabela's just a few minutes from the house I found a Vortex Razor for 1199. The guy said we could go outside and check it out but not being quite ready I declined the offer. It was 16-48-65.
Beth found a Vortex Razor 16-48-65 on Amazon for 799. Is there that much of a markup on these things. From what I can tell it is the same scope. Could somebody elaborate just a bit on this? Don't want to argue over different brands as I am not an expert by any means. I have Leupold on my rifles and same brand for binoculars.

Keep yer powder dry and yer knife sharp.

Posts: 607 | Location: Texas City, TX. USA. | Registered: 25 January 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Call Doug at Cameraland and see what he gets for a Meopta 20-70X spotter. More expensive than Vortex Razor, but a great scope.

Don't Ever Book a Hunt with Jeff Blair
http://forums.accuratereloadin...821061151#2821061151

Posts: 7577 | Location: Arizona and off grid in CO | Registered: 28 July 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
We are actually running a special on the Meostar S2 with 20-70 for only $1,999.99

We also have some demo S1 Meostars for under $1,000.00

Give us a call, 516-217-1000

Have a great day,
Doug
gr8fuldoug@aol.com
Camera Land
516-217-1000
www.cameralandny.com

Posts: 3699 | Location: Old Bethpage NY | Registered: 08 September 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Okie: I can't comment on the quality of the optic in question, but only on Cabela's pricing.

I've found Cabela's to consistently have the highest prices on any given item of any retail supplier. It isn't surprising to find a $400 price differential between Cabela's and an online supplier on an item like a spotting scope.