Point Blank Sighting
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Point Blank Sighting -- a new idea for me. Basic overview is at:

www.hevanet.com/ranstead/PointBlank.htm

Sierra Bullets goes into a more detailed discussion --

HOME -- www.exteriorballistics.com

Trajectory tables/discussion -- http://www.exteriorballistics.com/ebexplained/5th/50.cfm

New idea for me. I've been shooting off the bench, not in the woods. Been looking for 0.2xx MOA at a known distance.

one of us
Picture of jackfish
posted Hide Post
Yeah, it was new to me too over 35 years ago when I started shooting.

You learn something new everyday whether you want to or not.

Posts: 1080 | Location: Western Wisconsin | Registered: 21 May 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I like the way Sierra refers to the PBR description-- "PBR is calculated for 1/2 the size of the tgt.," i.e if the tgt. is the 12" vital zone, the gun should be sighted in to go no more than 3" above or below the line of sight. This is what i refer to as the CPBR (Conservative PBR).

Steve

Posts: 926 | Location: pueblo.co | Registered: 03 December 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
45/70 govt---Back in I think 1947 Jack O'Connor wrote an article for Outdoor Life about adjusting a scope. Weaver scopes included a reprint of this article through the time that Weaver scopes were made in El Paso Texas(I think early 80's). The jest of the article was that line of sight is straight and bullet path is an arc. For a vast majority of rifles(Ofcourse it varies)if you set the scope at 25 yards,the line of sight will cut through the arc there and again at a longer distance-----for example with 30-06 it would be about 225 yards. So from muzzle to about 250 or so you could hold dead on. He didnt call this point blank range---but its about the same thing. I do set most of my scopes at 25 and then check them at the longer range--loook for them to be a little high at 100.