Find
Notify
Tools

Skinny lion?
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of JudgeG
posted
What do you folks think of this lion. The picture was sent to me recently which was represented to be a lion that was "passed on" for a reason not related. The client later killed an old grizzled fellow about 10 days later, btw. I've got a picture of it, but it has the client, too, and I don't have permission to publish it, but trust me, it is a wonderful old dude!

I'm not an expert on lions and am curious. What do our experts think about the age and doesn't this guy look a bit thin? The concession is in Zimbabwe, non-fenced, famous for having reputable operaters (in other words, the lion is wild). I've been on the concession three times and have seen lions during daylight hours each time, mature males usually having good manes (but not this good!). As another factor, plains game are abundent on the concession but buffalo are transient this time of year (so could that be a reason for the ribs showing?)

Your thoughts on age and conditions, please.

JudgeG ... just counting time 'til I am again finding balm in Gilead chilled out somewhere in the Selous.

Posts: 7696 | Location: GA | Registered: 27 February 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Well, I personally would have fattened him up with 400 grains of soft point. Yes, very skinney. Could be suffering from a multitude of issues. Intestinal parasite, old age, or inability to hunt effectively may explain his worn look. Hunting can be hard on a lone male with no pride to depend on.
Regardless, a very tough lion to pass. I would have shot him without any hesitation.

Dave Fulson

Posts: 1467 | Registered: 20 December 2007Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I don't know lions, I do know animals.

Taking this one would be a GOOD THING for both of you.

Sometimes the kind thing to do is putting an animal down. I have lost track of how many old cows and horses I have had to put down.