New
Find
Notify
Tools

Russell vs Courtney boots
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I've been wearing a pair of Russell PH boots in cape buffalo hide for about 8 years now. They've been great boots and I've put many miles on them as hunting boots, day to day boots, and even dressed up boots. Saddle soap and Obaneauf's about twice a year has kept them in great shape.

I'm looking to get another pair of boots now to break in before my Sept hunt and am torn between getting another pair of Russell PH's or a pair of Courtney Safari's. I've no experience with the Courtney boots, but haven't ready a poor review of them yet.

So what says the group? Tried and true Russell's, or try the Courtney's?

Posts: 1447 | Location: New England | Registered: 22 February 2010Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I've got both and have had great luck with the Courtney's! I haven't found the need to break them in. Bought a new pair in Harare 2 years ago and wore them most days of a 10 day buff hunt, no blisters, very supportive.

Guns and hunting

Posts: 1112 | Registered: 07 February 2017Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of cal pappas
posted Hide Post
I've been wearing Courteneys since the 1990s. Wear them every day in AK to hike and for casual outings. Never a need for break ins. They look great and are truly Africa. While not a cold weather boot nor a waterproof boot for the tundra, they fill the bill for everything else.
Cal

Cal Pappas, Willow, Alaska
www.CalPappas.com
www.CalPappas.blogspot.com
1994 Zimbabwe
1997 Zimbabwe
1998 Zimbabwe
1999 Zimbabwe
1999 Namibia, Botswana, Zambia--vacation
2000 Australia
2002 South Africa
2003 South Africa
2003 Zimbabwe
2005 South Africa
2005 Zimbabwe
2006 Tanzania
2006 Zimbabwe--vacation
2007 Zimbabwe--vacation
2008 Zimbabwe
2012 Australia
2013 South Africa
2013 Zimbabwe
2013 Australia
2016 Zimbabwe
2017 Zimbabwe
2018 South Africa
2018 Zimbabwe--vacation
2019 South Africa
2019 Botswana
2019 Zimbabwe vacation
2021 South Africa