New
Find
Notify
Tools

Define a "Stopper"...
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Please, define these, if you don;t mind, using whatever criteria you want, whether personal experience, recommened, or other-wise...

A "Stopper" rifle/cartridge.

A Dangerous Game Rifle/cartridge.

A rifle/cartridge used for hunting DG.

I sometimes find conflicting views, or misunderstandings, on these.
What is the standard for which each is measured? Thanks. ~~~Suluuq

Posts: 854 | Location: Kotzebue, Ak. | Registered: 25 December 2001Reply With Quote
<leo>
posted
I have no experience in stoppers but I would think the .470 NE and equivalent .45 calibers are the minimum bores and energy rated cartridges here. Bigger is definitely better here.

<biff>
posted
Qualifying this with I have never hunted DG, but aspire to someday. A stopper would be any rifle (double or CRF) chambered in a cartridge large enough to obviously stop a charge from a pissed or wounded animal on a semi regular basis probably starting at 458 lott and going up from there. A DGR IMHO not really all that different, still a CRF or Double but smaller chamberings allowed the bottom of which would be in the .375 H&H or .338 Winnie range it would have to be able to consistently take the big and nasties with whichever shot presented itself (and I wouldn't be an advocate of using the low end of the spectrum). And a rifle used to hunt DG, I am not sure why I would want to make a distinction [Confused] , if I was fortunate enough to have the funds to go on a DG hunt then I damn sure would want to take a rifle chambered in the proper configuration with a more than adequate chambering so that the guy behind me doesn't have to use his "stopper" Some folks will only get to go after DG once in a lifetime Most not even that much so if you are gonna blow your load you better do so with enuff gun [Big Grin] just my .02 gabe

one of us
posted Hide Post
Rusty Gunn