Find
Notify
Tools

Shooting cats from a blind..
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I would like a discussion around this..

Seems like this is the norm now in the african hunting industry...I am not accusing somebody for this practise..but...

I realize that this is probably the only way to go for taking leopard, but personally I would not do it for lion..

Hunting lion on foot must be an awesome experience...and my thinking is that it is the only right way of doing it..

If you dont have the stamina to do it the right way, well then dont...to me hunting is hunting and I love the challenge.

Hunting dangerous game could be precisely that....possibly dangerous....are we doing things to easy these days..?

Posts: 3974 | Location: Vell, I yust dont know.. | Registered: 27 March 2005Reply With Quote
Administrator
posted Hide Post
It is not as simple as that at all.

I have been hunting lion and leopards for over 30 years, and all the ones I have shot were either on bait or close to bait.

But, I have also followed lion tracks for hours on end, but was never successful in catching up with them.

In some areas, it is impossible to track lion at all.

The same goes for leopards.

I have seen a number of them while walking, they were either females, or relatively young ones.

www.accuratereloading.com
Instagram : ganyana2000

Posts: 68651 | Location: Dubai, UAE | Registered: 08 January 1998Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Nakihunter
posted Hide Post
Hunting a lion or leopard from a blind is not easy and is not a guaranteed success.

I have never hunted big cats but I grew up with stories of my dad hunting tigers and leopards in India in the 1950s.

Big cats - particularly the ones near human habitation that feed on livestock - are extremely smart. They do not just walk up to the bait and start feeding. The hide has to be perfect. If it is a bit obvious, the animal will stalk the hide to check it our or it will just avoid the bait.