Find
Notify
Tools

Eland
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Howdy y'all,

I just found out that I was offered to hunt Eland (not included in the package hunt in South Africa)because the owner/ph had one quota left. This is my first time to South Africa. He offered it to me before he would go to someone else. They are expensive! (yes, you assumed correctly, I'm not rich). What is it like to hunt an Eland? Can some of y'all post pictures of the one you harvested? I would appreciate it. I need to decide on whether to take up on that or not.

Thanks in advance.

Posts: 33 | Location: SC - Lowcountry | Registered: 26 March 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of SnakeLover
posted Hide Post
Here's a pic of my eland from last May. He would be considered pretty good size with horns measuring over 38"  -
He was in a herd of 11 eland that were moving and feeding. We snuck up on them using a creek bed until we got about 200 yds off. One shot from my .338 tipped him over. Loading a 2000+ animal was the hard part.

To me it felt like antelope hunting out west in that there was no cover, and we used the creek bed like a coulee to get into position.

It's an expensive steak, but the eland filets my wife and I had off this old boy were better than any steak I've had here in the states!

Brad

[ 07-25-2003, 05:20: Message edited by: SnakeLover ]

Posts: 472 | Location: Virginia | Registered: 26 January 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Thanks for the story, but you pic didn't show up. I'm real anxious to see some pics.

Posts: 33 | Location: SC - Lowcountry | Registered: 26 March 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post