New
Find
Notify
Tools

Bowhunting Giraffe
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I've booked a Giraffe bowhunt with Hamish Skead of Lowlands Safaris in RSA where I live. I've read up on the topic but I would like to hear from our hunters who have "been there and done that." The hunt will be walk & stalk in October so the bush will have greened up and thickened by then (the rains have started sniffing around already). My kit is a Bowtech Tribute @ around 82lbs shooting an 800 grain arrow with a 150 grain German Kinetic at the pointy end.Shared experiences both good and bad will be helpful so I'm fully prepared. Many thanks,JCHB.

Posts: 412 | Location: KZN province South Africa | Registered: 24 July 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of ghostbird
posted Hide Post
I have no personal experience, but from what I have been told it sounds like your equipment choice will be good. The shot of choice with a bow, so I've been told, is a head on shot in the divet where the neck joins the chest. Broadside shots with a bow were discouraged due to heavy bone structure. Anybody else got opinions or personal experience?
Good luck with your hunt.
Andy

--------------------------------------------
National Rifle Association - Life Member
National Wild Turkey Federation - Diamond Life Sponsor
Pope & Young Club - Associate Member

Posts: 561 | Location: North Alabama, USA | Registered: 14 February 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Send a private message to "eyedoc" here on Ar and he can give you plenty of first hand experience, especially on shot placement,, the heart isn't in the same place as most African animals. Also seach on the bowsite here on Ar, I think we had a thread there as well.....

you can make more money, you can not make more time

Posts: 786 | Location: Mexia Texas | Registered: 07 July 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Thanks drwes, I'm going to try and pm eyedoc.