New
Find
Notify
Tools

What makes hunters look bad?
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
The two recent threads on shooting from a truck and archery buffalo disgrace got me to wondering about this. What actions do you think that hunters do that put us into a bad light with non-hunters? Forget antis, as they don't like anything we do including eating meat.

The attitude of non-hunters about our sport can have a determining factor on what hunting laws are passed and most can be convinced one way or the other by facts.

465H&H

Posts: 5686 | Location: Nampa, Idaho | Registered: 10 February 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Todd Williams
posted Hide Post
I think we give non-hunters way too much credit as far as determining what is ethical and what isn't concerning hunting.

For example, I've been hunting for 43 years. The vast majority of that in Texas for Whitetail Deer out of blinds, often over feeders, and using tree stands while archery hunting.

Before I joined this forum I had no idea that people found the use of a blind or tree stand as objectionable. I doubt non-hunters make a distinction at all over most of the things we split hairs over. I doubt most non-hunters even have a clue as to why we would consider shooting from a truck as being objectionable.

From most conversations I have with non-hunters, they don't care about the methods at all. They care if the meat is eaten and they tend to think that ALL African game is endangered.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
Spot on, Todd Williams.

Posts: 247 | Location: Tennessee | Registered: 20 February 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post