Find
Notify
Tools

GoPro camera use on safari
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of Hunting For Adventure
posted
I'm highly considering buying a GoPro camera to film some of this years safari. I think they provide neat travel/bakkie shots and what not but I have never used one.

Are they easy to use? Easy to download and edit? Anyone prefer a particular model? Any and all help would be great.

Tom Addleman
tom@dirtnapgear.com

Posts: 1161 | Location: Kansas City, Missouri | Registered: 03 March 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
We use the HERO 3 quite a bit filming Tracks Across Africa as well as our other series. Very easy, and around $200 I believe.

Dave Fulson

Posts: 1467 | Registered: 20 December 2007Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of JCS271
posted Hide Post
Costco currently sells them with a nice accessory pack for $199. I have no personal experience but my adult son uses his for scuba and hog hunt video and loves it.

"The difference between adventure and disaster is preparation."
"The problem with quoting info from the internet is that you can never be sure it is accurate" Abraham Lincoln

Posts: 1626 | Location: Montana Territory | Registered: 27 March 2010Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Duckear
posted Hide Post
http://forums.accuratereloadin...8911043/m/3441096281

Hunting: Exercising dominion over creation at 2800 fps.

Posts: 3108 | Location: Southern US | Registered: 21 July 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Anyone want to sell a used one? Sounds like they are not good for typical hunting situations but I am considering using one on a waterhole that I can control from a blind. Might be neat footage but I don't want to spend a lot...more of an experiment than anything.

Tom Addleman
tom@dirtnapgear.com

Posts: 1161 | Location: Kansas City, Missouri | Registered: 03 March 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of MJines
posted Hide Post