New
Find
Notify
Tools

Hound hunting in Namibia
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I have been hunting leopard with hounds for the last 9 years. As far as I know there are not many PH's that have been hunting with hounds this long.
When we started hunting leopard with hounds there was no real problem with it because the quota was not beeing filled and only a small number of outfitters did it.
Since 2001 more and more houndsmen have come across the border and more and more Namibia Outfitters have put a pack of hounds together to make a quick buck or two...
A good pack of hounds do not fall from the sky it takes years and years to breed them and train them. a good pack of hounds work like a good Rugby team every dog has its job and you can see them do it. They do not jump of the truck and eat the bait, chase game and run all over the place.
90% of the hounds in Namibia can not catch a house cat but now the must hunt leopard and when the outfiter or houndsmen realize that they can not tree cats LEGALLY they turn to other methodes to get the hunters their trophy of a life time...and this is when cats are let out of cages and traps...
I wonder how many of you reading this have shot a leopard at like this with out even knowing it!!! I promise you it has happenend!!
The Namibian Government has suspended hound hunting because of these people and unfortunatly I do not think it will ever open again...
I know lots of people do not support hound hunting BUT if you have done it the right way it is a greater experience than any other big game hunt.
We are very sad about losing this metode of hunting... It is a real pitty that the people who has done things right must pay the penalty...
NAPHA had to take action against this but I think they are missing the point and should not put the blame on our valued hunters from the USA but clean their house in Namibia because they know who the people and outfitters are that is destoying our hunting industry.