New
Find
Notify
Tools

Hornady DGX/DGS performance?
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
What are your experiences with Hornady new DGS and DGX ammo?

I have some of the old DGX, and after putting one into a buff I promoted them to the rank of Plinking Rounds. Totally inadequate for any type of big, thick skinned animal. Unbonded core, too thin a jacket, piss-poor weight retention.

I've seen a couple of the new DGX in action, and am not really impressed. Better than the old ones, but still not a five stars bullet.

I have no experience with the DGS.

What do you gentlemen say, especially those who have used them in many occasions and may have spotted shortcomings?

Philip

Posts: 1252 | Location: East Africa | Registered: 14 November 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
The DGX SUCK. Pay your life insurance if you are after DG.

I shot a few elephants with the new DGS. They seemed fine to me.

By the way, all in 500 NE.

Posts: 12094 | Location: Orlando, FL | Registered: 26 January 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by larryshores:
The DGX SUCK. Pay your life insurance if you are after DG.

I shot a few elephants with the new DGS. They seemed fine to me.

By the way, all in 500 NE.

Sorry to hear that Larry.

My experience to this point with the Hornady ammo is limited, but heading to Mozambique today for a 2 buffalo / 1 lion safari. Will be taking both a .375 Ruger and a .416 Ruger, using Hornady DG series ammo. Then in June heading to Australia for a couple of buffalo with Matt Graham, using the same loads/guns. Will get a better "feel" for the gun/load combo by then.