THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM AFRICAN HUNTING FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Hunting  Hop To Forums  African Big Game Hunting    16 yards Elephant and 500 N.E. Video
Page 1 2 3 

Moderators: Saeed
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

16 yards Elephant and 500 N.E. Video
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of shakari
posted Hide Post
Hi Mike

No problem. I've been studying Elephants for many years, through books & personal study etc, and for many years I was fairly closely involved in the study of the first herd of Elephants that were translocated from the KNP into Zululand. During that time, I've learned that not only are they a very complicated species that fall into a catagory completely on their own, I've also learned that there is still a huge amount we simply don't know about them.......Esp how they communicate and how close their family ties are etc. So I guess, my answer to your question is that I believe my opinions are based on the science of studying Elephants, but sure, I guess there's also a degree of emotion in the formation of those opinions. Certainly, I could give many examples of how their thought processes seem to work in a different way to other species.....

I also believe that if hunters took the trouble to learn a little more about this species before they went and hunted them, they'd not only change thair minds about which Elephant is the right one to hunt, they'd also gain so much more from the experience of hunting the right animal. (Hope I don't sound too much like a preacher here! Wink )

There's a long list of interesting and informative books out there to help us learn about Elephants, but a short list you might enjoy are:

The Sound of Thunder by Katy Payne
Africa's Elephant by Martin Meredith
When Elephants Weep by Jeffrey Masson & Susan McGarthy
Wildlife Wars by Richard Leakey and Virginia Morell