New
Find
Notify
Tools

Losing Ammo in Transit Question
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I have very little experience traveling by air to hunt, only one trip for plains game. It's probably my only one. I've seen over and over admonitions to only buy a 375 H & H or 300 Win Mag, or some other relatively common cartridge, because of ammo availability. I am curious if you guys, who have done way more trips than I can dream of have arrived with rifle and no ammo and then were able to buy or borrow what you needed. I know the theory of belts and suspenders, but did your pants ever metaphorically fall down with only a belt?
Thanks
Bfly

Work hard and be nice, you never have enough time or friends.

Posts: 1195 | Location: Lake Nice, VA | Registered: 15 March 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Never happened to me in 10 trips, but I always pack my ammo in my tuffpak with my rifles at least on the way over. I have had my rifles lost and had to wait a day for them to catch up with me.

Posts: 41861 | Location: Crosby and Barksdale, Texas | Registered: 18 September 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Happened to me in Zim, 2012. Rifle showed up, checked bag with ammo did not.

Luckily, it was my 458 Lott, and there was a box of 458 Win Mag solids in camp. I shot my first tuskless with win mag ammo, I think my bag & ammo showed up on day 3.

The flip side, there's usually a camp rifle you could use if something didn't show up. So if you have a 'less than common' caliber that you'd like to bring, by all means bring it. Just confirm with the outfitter that there's a passable rifle in camp, just in case.

Posts: 437 | Location: CA.  | Registered: 26 October 2016Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of DLS
posted Hide Post