Notify
Tools

Re: 500 Jeffery on Ruger 77
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Quote:

Jeffeosso,
I can tell you are set in your opinions; therefore, I won't argue this point any longer. I was using Weatherby brass not A Square, by the way. I have no first hand experience with either A Square's brass or bullets so I cannot comment on their quality or performance. So, just to make sure I understand your point, you are saying that after all the 500 Jeffery shooting I did with those 'high pressure' loads I am lucky to be breathin'. Perhaps, but I don't think luck really had anything to do with.

I am very glad though, that you and DemoSam are around to keep be on the safe path. You are keeping me from blowing myself up while DemoSam is keeping me safe by telling me how my double rifle is bending open every time I shoot it so I had better stop! Thanks again for setting me straight. (both of you, DemoSam if you are reading this)

If I load a 505 Gibbs above 39500 psi will it also be ready to explode?

Regarding the feeding, I did not mean to offend you, or anyone for that matter. I do not find the 500 Jeffery particularly hard to make feed. It is simply trigonometry, bending, cutting, filing, grinding, a little milling, etc. You must understand that this entire 'difficulty' discussion is subjective. Some people find integral calculus simplicity itself, while others cannot begin to comprehend it. Some can rebuild an engine with utter ease, while others cannot figure out how to check the oil level. The list goes on. Again I meant no offense, and I hope than none was taken.

500grains,
I can tell from your posts that you have absolutely no experience with the 500 Jeffery; therefore, you are not qualified to discuss the pros and cons of the cartridge. At least jeffeosso has made a 500 Jeffery (or he claims to have and I have no reason to doubt him), so he is entitled to his opinion based upon his experiences.