THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM BOW HUNTING FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Hunting  Hop To Forums  Bowhunting    Carbon shafts from Bass Pro Shops

Moderators: Canuck
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Carbon shafts from Bass Pro Shops
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I am pretty new to bowhunting, got my bow bout 3 years ago, a PSe nova. Am thinking about going to carbon shafts to increase speed. A friend recently bought a set from Bas Pro Shop and they were priced at around $40.00 per dozen,with fletching, nocks, and inserts. I talked to a local bow shop employee whose shafts run around $70.00 a dozen and he told me the BPS carbons are junk and I could get hurt using them, saying they could shatter as I released them, and I needed his brand of shafts to be safe. It sounded like high pressure sales pitch to me but was wondering if anyone has had a bad exp[erience with BPS carbon shafts recently. Thanks for the help,

Good luck and good shooting,

Eterry

Posts: 839 | Location: Between Doan's Crossing and Red River Station | Registered: 22 July 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Boss Kongoni
posted Hide Post
There are certianly various levels of quaility but, you are correct the "expert" at you proshop is just tring to make a sale.

I'm not a BPS customer, however, they wouldn't have thier market share by selling dangerous products.

Better carbons Ie. strenght,straightnes & consistancy will cost you more. That is offset by duriblity & increesed accuaratcy.

My current choice is Carbon express. The arrows in the pic are Arrow Dynamics Trad Heavys, they are a tapered carbon shaft.

Posts: 980 | Location: Illinois | Registered: 04 January 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post