Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

ideas for target
 Login/Join

posted
im new to bowhunting and i was just wondering if any of you guys know of anything i can use around the house to make a good target to shoot at. i dont want to have to go out and spend a bunch of money. thanks for the help

Posts: 8 | Location: deer park | Registered: 22 April 2003Reply With Quote
<DOATargets>
posted
Hello and welcome MTHunter15 -

I have made a TON of different targets. The best one for home building is the "carpet target". This has been made the same way for years. It is not unlike the "new" block design. All you need is some carpet old or new and cut it into strips of no more than three inches thick and about three to four feet long. This is kind of labor intensive but they last a long time. Just cut and stack until you get the height you like. The trick is to fasten them all in a tight form stack. I like to run a couple of four foot treaded poles of about 5/8 through the outside edges of the carpet and two four by fours to clamp it. These are heavy as hell and I would assemble it at the area you will shoot.
On the other hand you could just go out and by some hay bails. They are the best for the price.
Have fun
DOA

one of us
posted Hide Post
Hi MThunter15,
Many of the targets on the market today are nothing more than different types of bags stuffed with screen scraps. My hunting partner made several targets with burlap bags and screen scraps that he got for free at a local hardware store. Stuff the bag tight and it will stop high speed bows shooting carbon arrows. Nice part is they are cheap and light weight.

Ted

Posts: 252 | Location: Morris IL USA | Registered: 25 February 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post