New
Find
Notify
Tools

DIY silencers.
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I have been making silencers as a hobby for about ten years. While the US government requires registration and the payment of a $200 tax prior to making or buying them, it is a routine matter and not denied to anyone who can own a gun and live in one of the 38 states that allow them.

Silencers are one of the most beneficial accessories that a shooter can attach to their firearm. They can make a high powered rifle safe to shoot without hearing protection and eliminate nearly all the the noise of a 22 rim fire rifle shooting subsonic ammo.

I made a video on silencer construction you can watch here; http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yYrlxPCmbmU

I have other videos here; http://www.youtube.com/my_videos?feature=mhee Youtube does a very poor job of recreating the noise of firearms that are suppressed or unsuppressed, but they can be interesting to watch.

Anyone familiar with my posts on this forum will see that I am fanatically devoted to silencer use; probably a result of spending three years working to amend the WA State law banning their use. We finally had our rights restored in July 2011.

Ranb

Posts: 803 | Location: WA, USA | Registered: 29 December 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
one of us
posted Hide Post
Congratulations on your work to amend the WA state law! Lots of folks will enjoy the benefits.

Have thought about trying to build one ... with the appropriate FORM 1 of course ... but haven't the facilities to do accurate threading.

Do enjoy the commercial cans though!

Mike

--------------
DRSS, Womper's Club, NRA Life Member/Charter Member NRA Golden Eagles ...
Knifemaker, http://www.mstarling.com

Posts: 6199 | Location: Charleston, WV | Registered: 31 August 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
one of us
posted Hide Post
Do silencers require subsonic ammo to have any effect on the noise level?

Doug Humbarger
NRA Life member
Tonkin Gulf Yacht Club 72'73.
Yankee Station