Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Load development
 Login/Join

posted
I am a newbie to this forum, have been reading for a while, my question is where do you begin?

Reloading metallic cartridges is new to me, but how do you develop a load? There seems to be so many variables, bullet type, weight, powder, bullet seating depth, brand of primers etc.
Are there books that explain this process or is it just a seat of the pants thing that comes from expeirence? I'm talking about published loadings, finding the one that gives the best groups. Thanks, Steve

one of us
Picture of Ol` Joe
posted Hide Post
The best place to start is a manual or two. The ABCs of Reloading is another good read.
Once you have a understanding of the process you`ll find the books have notations on what the labs found to work well in the cartridge you are interested in. They may not always be the best choice, but they are usually a good start. This and other forums are good places to get tips and help if things don`t seem right. Read up, ask a few questions and you`ll be on your way.

------------------------------------
The trouble with the Internet is that it's replacing masturbation as a leisure activity. ~Patrick Murray

"Why shouldn`t truth be stranger then fiction?
Fiction after all has to make sense." (Samual Clemens)

"Saepe errans, numquam dubitans --Frequently in error, never in doubt".

Posts: 2535 | Location: Michigan | Registered: 20 January 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of FlyingAce
posted Hide Post
Here are some methodologies:

http://wssmzone.com/main/default.aspx?c=reloading&c2=re...elopment&n=reloading

Jim Mace

For all things WSSM...
http://wssmzone.com

Some told me, "Jim, sorry, you just can't...". To those I reply, "Watch Me..."

Posts: 84 | Location: Spokane, Washington | Registered: 10 November 2004Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
Thanks for the info,Joe, Flying Ace.
Methodology was the term I was looking for.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
trumpet