New
Find
Notify
Tools

Singing Pines Wild Rice
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
The holidays depleted our supply of wild rice, so I ordered some more. Mr. Allen, now in his 70s is still doing business the old fashioned way, you order, he includess a bill with your rice order, and you pay him upon receipt. Very Highly recommended, makes great, relatively cheap gifts in say, a package of 3 pounds, one each of his three types of rice. I am re-posting my original of about 4 years ago. Buy 20 pounds, mix and match, and his prices go down about 10%. His rice is sold by others at higher prices, so, if you like wild rice, why not buy from the source?

I have been ordering from him for at least 25 years.

BTW, I mentioned to him we were getting some Minnesota weather, going to be in the teens tonight, which is damn cold for our area. He laughed and said it was MINUS 24 this morning at his house.

quote:
posted 09 April 2013 13:35
While in a losing effort to do some spring cleaning I came across this name and address.

Singing Pines Wild Rice
Joe Allen
Grand Rapids Minn

218 326 1013

I just called him up to be sure he was still in business and didn't mind me posting his business on the internet.

I've bought wild rice, which I really enjoy in various recipes as well as plain, from this gentleman for over 25 years. His name and address is hard to find since he does very little advertising and, AFAIK, doesn't use a computer much, if at all. Some people resell his products but why not buy from the source? He gives small discounts for larger purchases. Amazingly, in this day and age, he sends the rice without pre-payment. Once you get it, you send him a check. He does not take credit cards. I asked him if he got stiffed very often and he said, "Only a couple of times over the years". Maybe wild rice promotes honesty?